WBC heavyweight champion Deontay Wilder was disgusted with the fight – speaking a couple of months on from it and before his own fight.

Wilder returns to the ring tonight against Bermane Stiverne at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn, New York and knows a win could set up a potentially huge fight with Anthony Joshua in 2018.

There’s been a number of big pay per view fights this year in the sport of boxing involving Anthony Joshua and also , perhaps the most controversial pay per view in 2017 – Floyd Mayweather vs Conor McGregor.

A couple of months on and the dust has well and truly settled on the fight.

Although McGregor continues to speak about a possible rematch and how he feels he would win the fight if the pair fought again.

Deontay Wilder was not impressed with the fight all all for his part. Speaking to Complex – Wilder said:

“If it wasn’t for one of my brothers hosting it at his restaurant, I would have never watched it. But, that’s another money scam. I bet they high-fived in the back.”

The fight did not break the all-time pay per view record in boxing as it expected, a record set by Mayweather two eyars earlier with his fight against Manny Pacquiao.

It became the second biggest pay per view in US boxing history.

Wilder’s fight tonight with Stiverne is expected to get underway after 3am UK time (Sunday morning) at the very earliest, which is after 10pm ET and 7pm PT in the US.