World Champions

While some believe belts are no longer important in modern day boxing we disagree. They form a proud part of the sport’s history in our opinion. A full and comprehensive Boxing World Champions list of all modern day active professional male world boxing champions.

Our boxing world champions list focuses on the main governing bodies in the sport of professional boxing around the world.

The WBC (World Boxing Council), WBO (World Boxing Organization) and IBF (International Boxing Federation).

Due to the complete and utter confusion that has gone on with the WBA in recent years (the World Boxing Association) whereby the global boxing media have now become completely disillusioned with their promises to stop making so many (it is hard to keep track in truth) titles per division — we will wait until this promise is followed through and it is clear that there is one credible WBA world champion per division again — not ‘Super’, ‘Regular’ and all the other versions in between of their world title per division that currently exist. We hope this will be changed back to just one WBA world title per weight class again like before — like they and Mr. Mendoza have promised and gone on record of saying they will do to the entire world boxing industry and world boxing fan community. That said, we’ll still continue to acknowledge the WBA in our articles but in terms of being on this list for us below — we will wait for now until they bring back one WBA world title per division (in 2019 hopefully).

A small update from the WBA president on the situation and broken promise to boxing fans:

(See also: Our current pound for pound top 10 list).

We will keep this world boxing champions list up to date after every world title fight or title change for whatever reason.

So here goes.

Current Boxing World Champions

WBC (World Boxing Council)

Heavyweight – Deontay Wilder

Cruiserweight – Oleksandr Usyk

Light-Heavyweight – Oleksandr Gvozdyk

Super-Middleweight – Anthony Dirrell

Middleweight – Canelo Alvarez

Super-Welterweight – Tony Harrison

Welterweight – Shawn Porter

Super-Lightweight – Jose Ramirez

Lightweight – Mikey Garcia

Super-Featherweight – Miguel Berchelt

Featherweight – Gary Russell Jr

Super-Bantamweight – Rey Vargas

Bantamweight – Nordine Oubaali

Super-Flyweight – Srisaket Sor Rungvisai

Flyweight – Charlie Edwards

Light-Flyweight – Ken Shiro

Strawweight (aka ‘Minimumweight’) – Chayaphon Moonsri

WBO (World Boxing Organization)

Heavyweight – Anthony Joshua

Cruiserweight – Oleksandr Usyk

Light-Heavyweight – Sergey Kovalev

Super-Middleweight – Gilberto Ramirez

Middleweight – Demetrius Andrade

Super-Welterweight – Jaime Munguia

Welterweight – Terence Crawford

Super-Lightweight – Maurice Hooker

Lightweight – Vasyl Lomachenko

Super-Featherweight – Masayuki Ito

Featherweight – Oscar Valdez

Super-Bantamweight – Emanuel Navarrete

Bantamweight – Zolani Tete

Super-Flyweight – Donnie Nietes

Flyweight – Kosei Tanaka

Light-Flyweight – Angel Acosta

Strawweight (aka ‘Minimumweight’) – Vic Saludar

IBF (International Boxing Federation)

Heavyweight – Anthony Joshua

Cruiserweight – Oleksandr Usyk

Light-Heavyweight – Artur Beterbiev

Super-Middleweight – Caleb Plant

Middleweight – Daniel Jacobs

Super-Welterweight – Jarrett Hurd

Welterweight – Errol Spence Jr

Super-Lightweight – Ivan Baranchyk

Lightweight – Richard Commey

Super-Featherweight – Tevin Farmer

Featherweight – Josh Warrington

Super-Bantamweight – TJ Doheny

Bantamweight – Emmanuel Rodriguez

Super-Flyweight – Jerwin Ancajas

Flyweight – Moruti Mthalane

Light-Flyweight – Felix Alvarado

Strawweight (aka ‘Minimumweight’) – Carlos Licona